Chest - Decline Barbell PressEach time I do my Chest workout I do one exercise from each of the 7 groups below. I cycle around each group, so that if I did exercise C11 as the exercise from the first group last time I trained Chest, next time I’ll do C12. That’s not vital, if the equipment isn’t available then I’ll do C11 or C13 – just making sure I do one of the C1 group.

I do 3 sets of each exercise I am doing. Each set is done to 10 reps or failure if before. If 10 reps are achieved, the weight goes up for next set. If 10 reps are achieved on all three sets of an exercise, then next time I do that exercise, the middle weight from last time becomes the starting weight. If 10 reps are not achieved, then the weight remains the same and I push extra hard to get an extra rep.

Smith Machine Incline Press (C11)
Single Arm Cable Press (C12)
Incline Dumbbell Press (C13)
Incline Barbell Press (C14)

Seated Chest Press Machine (C21)
Flat Bench Barbell Press (C22)
Flat Bench Dumbbell Press (C23)
Smith Machine Flat Press (C24)

Pec Fly Machine High-grip (C31)
Low Wide Incline Cable Fly (C32)
Incline Dumbbell Fly (C33)

Pec Fly Machine Mid-Grip (C41)
Horizontal Cable Fly (C42)
Flat Bench Dumbbell Fly (C43)
Wide Cable Fly (C44)

Standing High Cable Fly (C51)
Decline Dumbbell Fly (C52)

Decline Barbell Press (C61)
Decline Dumbbell Press (C62)

Push Up (C71)

The final exercise (C71) is done at the end of the workout every time as a single set to one rep more than last time, up to a maximum of 30.  If that’s easy, then try it building from zero again but with a 20kg weight plate on your back.